Shape and form are important in how a character is portrayed to an audience. For instance, characters that use sharp, pointed shapes are often the antagonists or meant to be uptight and unfriendly as opposed to a character that uses softer shapes like circles and ovals that would come across as warm and pleasant and likely be the hero or protagonist.

shape moodboard-01

I created a mood board of different character shapes to explore how to utilize simple shapes as a starting point for how I want to represent my character.

char designs 1

I also made my own character shape drawings.

Night in the Woods is a game that largely inspired my final design as I like the clean and simple art style and the way in which it is still able to capture the personalities of the characters which is a very important part of the narrative. I wanted to be able to convey the nature of my character in the clear way that this game does.

gesture drawing moodboard-01

To develop my characters further, I made a mood board of examples of gesture drawings. I referred to it when making gesture drawing for my characters to explore their actions, reactions, and personalities through body language and movement.

gesture drawings 1gesture drawings 2

 

sources:
https://www.dailymail.co.uk/sciencetech/article-3833481/Why-baddies-triangular-good-guys-round-Mathematician-reveals-hidden-geometry-hit-films.html