Using a combination of Adobe Photoshop, Illustrator, After Effects and Logic Pro software, I created my ‘Beyond Muybridge’ animation.

The idea of my animation is to show Muybridge revisiting his home town of Kingston but also to showcase his photography works from his Flying Studio career under the alias Helios.

I feel that my backgrounds were able to bring the animation together well as I worked with attention to detail in each one. I like that Muybridge’s simple design works well with the backgrounds as it doesn’t overshadow them but at the same time, his design is still solid.

muybridge-01

In my animation, I utilised frame by frame animation for my walk cycle and looped it in after effects to save time by not drawing each frame and copying them over and over again. The majority of my animation is brought together using the camera, panning across scenes.

backgrounds-01

Although I managed to use varied camerawork such as panning and zooming, I feel that I could’ve added something like camera flashes to transition between the real-life locations and the photographs to better convey the fact that it’s his photography. I could’ve also thought about including more of his works to give the audience more of a look into the types of things that he created.