We looked at different techniques to use with acrylic paint and what types of textures we could make with them.

Texturing

[image

This is the process of using paint with a textured material and painting with the material in it. For instance, you could use salt or sawdust to add to the physical texture and enhance the dimensions. Here I used salt and it is helpful to have the acrylic in a thick consistency so that it can hold the granules.

 

Scumbling

This is the process of using the dry brush technique on to of a dry layer of paint to create a broken brush stroke effect and to also visually soften or lighten areas. I decided to do a gradient to demonstrate how well scumbling can help to transition between colours.

 

Sgraffito

image

This technique involves layering wet paint over a surface of dry paint before scratching through the wet layer in the desired pattern to reveal the underlying colour. I decided to do a complex design to see how much texture I could create.

 

Hard Edge

[image]

This technique involves painting against a surface, most likely tape, with colour so that when you pull the surface away, you are left with a perfectly clean edge. When I completed my one, I used masking tape and my acrylic paint was on the thinner side and so it bled slightly into the tape. To improve, I could use sellotape to avoid bleeding or use the paint in a thicker consistency.

 

Glazing

This is the process of applying a thin, translucent layer of paint over an area of dry paint to alter the appearance of the underlying layer. You can also build up the translucent layers on top of each other to gradually create a bolder colour.

 

Thanks for reading ~