Using the same design from the analogous painting, I did a painting with a split-complementary colour scheme.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I used yellow as the base colour and tried to make purple that used more blue and purple that used more red and I used the same method of filling in spaces one colour at a time. As I was using darker colours, watering down the acrylic allowed the paint to appear streaky. To improve this, I could’ve used multiple layers of the watered down acrylic. I didn’t want to use the acrylic in its thick consistency for the darker colours as you might not have been able to see a real difference between the reddish purple and the blueish purple. To improve, I could’ve made lighter versions of the purple so that the difference between them was clearer.

 

Thanks for reading ~