In our first lesson, we were drawing shoes from observation using an HB pencil.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Using the full time, I produced an outline with some texturing. I worked hard to study the textures on the shoes and replicate it using cross-hatching, stippling with small lines and directional lines.

I started by drawing out the basic block shapes before filling in the more detailed shapes like the individual straps and staples. After this, I built up the leather by layering cross-hatching and directional lines to indicate a smooth texture and to imitate how the light fell on it. For the underside of the leather, I layered stippling of small lines and dots to capture the rough but fluffed texture.

When adding tone, I layered the mark making I was using to build it up rather than starting with the darkest tone to ensure smooth transitions within the gradient where necessary.

 

Thanks for reading ~