I want my game to run on consoles of the Nintendo 3DS family but it would be advertised on the Nintendo 2DS mainly.

To work out how the game mechanics match up with the mechanics of the console, I am looking at platformer type games that run on 3DS devices to see what type of actions match up with each button.

For instance: Super Mario 3D Land

 

source: http://supermario3dland.nintendo.com/gameplay/index.html

These fundamental functions are moves that I can likely incorporate into my game and so I can use this to refer to for my own game.

Basic Actions

Circle pad – move

B – jump

Hold down Y whilst moving – dash

L or R – crouch

L + Y – roll

Y – action button

source: Super Mario 3D Land Control Sheet

 

As Super Mario 3D Land doesn’t have the type of attacking mechanics that match with my game entirely, I decided to look at another game that would allow me to see how characters were controlled with weapons and the different ways in which they were accessed.

Looking at attack controls

I was looking specifically at attack controls to see the different types of ways that my character can use their weapons in my game. In Super Smash Bros., there are different types of attacks.

Screen Shot 2018-12-10 at 14.51.37Screen Shot 2018-12-10 at 14.51.58Screen Shot 2018-12-10 at 14.52.34

source: https://www.smashbros.com/wiiu-3ds/us/howto/entry3.html

A/B – attack button

R – shield

From this research, I can gather an idea of how I want to allocate functions to the buttons:

Circle pad – move

B – jump

Hold down X whilst moving – dash

L  – crouch

R – block

A – attack

Hold down A – charged attack

L + Y – roll

Start – pause game