I’m looking at neighbourhoods in central London so that I can link the map to the level select screen.

Neighbourhoods I found included Kentish Town, Acton, Shepherd’s Bush and more. I chose Acton of those few.

source: https://sonicjobs.co.uk/cheap-areas-to-live-in-london/

I then used Google maps to find a journey from a residential area in Acton to the Shard in Central London so that I would have a path to follow when making the map. I chose the location of the Shard due to the fact that the ‘Splinter HQ’ is a different version of it for my game.

screen shot 2019-01-14 at 13.21.17

source: Google Maps

The journey on Google Maps started from an area that looks like this to link to how the first part of the game takes place in houses.

screen shot 2019-01-14 at 13.32.37

large map

screen shot 2019-01-14 at 13.33.36

medium map

screen shot 2019-01-14 at 13.33.12

small map
source: Google Maps

This is what the journey looks like and so I would mimic this shape and use some of the landmark locations shown on the map to show how the levels progress across this path.

The level select map will resemble this journey but will appear simplified, starting at East Acton and ending at The Shard.

I then chose the small map to work from as I was looking to create a simplified version of the map so that it didn’t become too complicated.

level select-01

This is my result using Adobe Illustrator.

I traced over the map to get an accurate representation of the journey to make it as though the player would truly be travelling across London to reach the goal. My main fonts were Bearpaw and HVD Poster that I researched and chose due to the suitability of the textures that they offered in relation to the frantic and aggressive nature of my game.

headshot image

Original drawings

character icons-01

Digital drawings

With this level select screen, I created character icons in Adobe Illustrator that would be placed accordingly on the map to how far in the game you have progressed.