Interactive maps are widely available on the internet for ease of access and to expand the possibilities that companies can achieve with how they might want their map to function.

Online map moodboard-01

As all of these maps are available online, they will be compatible with devices such as mobiles, tablets and laptops. Having online interactive maps allow for this versatility.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Physical maps are also available for free from places like train stations and shopping centres. This helps for when you want to find out about the area that you’re in at the time don’t have access to the internet at that time. I went to Kingston Station and collected an array of information leaflets. Looking at this primary research will also give me an idea for the area of Kingston that I should cover in terms of how much of the area I should tailor the map to.

From the photos I’ve taken, you can see how there are recurring features across the different leaflets. On the maps, for instance, relevant locations in the area of the event or location are noted so that the user knows where to navigate from. Also, the pathways shown match the geography of the land so that the map accurately matches the real-life route so as not to confuse the user. The colour and design scheme is also reflected in the design of the map so that it fits the theme and look of the rest of the leaflet.

 

mindmap

To gather an idea for I want my map to focus on, I made a mindmap of the different features of Kingston that my map could be used to navigate. After looking at my brainstorm, I have decided to create a map of that show food and drink stores. This will include restaurants as well as smaller fast food places that offer facilities for eating in.

 

google maps search-02.jpg

I did a google search of food and drink places in Kingston to find out what types of places I would be able to visit and use in my map.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

To get an idea of the types of food places in Kingston, I went out and took photos of the ones that I could find. I chose this general area as it is close to the train station and shopping centre, key points of Kingston to navigate from. This would make my map readily available in relevant areas as the station and shopping centre are likely to be a popular place for people to visit if they were on an outing to or exploring Kingston.

sketches.jpg

From looking at these photos, I came up with the idea to illustrate one image for each restaurant that matches the style of the map that I make. Above are some sketches of the shops I photographed. I was able to find a range of cuisines and so I could consider using these restaurants as hotspots for my magazine.

Restaurants photographed:

> Kokoro

> The Joa

> Cappadocia

> Patcharee Thai

> Roosters Piri Piri

> Five Guys

> Frankie & Benny’s

> KungFu Buffet

> Stone Pizza

> Tortilla

> Maison Du Mezzé

general map area

I worked out that this would be the general area of the map that I would need to illustrate, were I to focus on the restaurants listed above.

Screenshot 2019-11-18 at 13.19.16

I looked at the information that Google Maps gives when you look at a restaurant so that I know what key details to include in my map.

The key features are as follows:

> Name of restaurant

> Address

> Website link (if available)

> Telephone number

> Opening times

> Menu (if available)

mapimage

I have created a map which marks all of the restaurants that I will be using. I will also use this image as a template when designing my final map.