I am applying to an animation course because I want to learn how to create things that allow me to express my own ideas using moving images. I aim to enter into a career preferably in the games industry as the stories I would take part in creating would be part of a fun and interesting interactive piece of media.

After the course, I hope to enter an animation career within games but am also open to exploring film and TV. I hope to use the experience that I have gained from this course to enter the animation industry and become part of creating quality and even revolutionary projects whilst bringing my own flair and uniqueness that I can work in with confidence due to the solidity in the knowledge that I establish at your university.

I have always been fascinated with art and animation of all sorts – whether it be cartoons like ‘Regular Show’, anime like ‘Cowboy Bebop’, heartfelt productions like Studio Ghibli films or animated features within games like ‘The Legend of Zelda’ franchise. Alongside these things and my older siblings’ creative influence, animation has played a part in inspiring me to try out drawing a range of characters, environments and abstracted works. As my skills developed, I found that I most enjoyed creating and drawing characters. The idea of bringing drawings to life to create a story with substance is extremely intriguing to me. Now that I am in the position where there is an opportunity to learn about the process as well as how to carry it out, I am jumping at the chance.

I am a hardworking and determined individual with a passion for the work that I produce but I also understand the time-consuming nature of animation production so am able to remain focussed whilst being able to work efficiently. My creativity allows me to think outside of the box and produce thoughtful products. I am diplomatic and can work well in a team by actively listening to feedback from my teachers and peers whilst being able to communicate well and ask questions.

My current games design course relates to creative ideas generation and development as well as production with independence. My media GCSE enabled me to gain an understanding of how media is presented to various demographics and encouraged me to think about all aspects of how to engage the public. My fine art GCSE challenged me to find ways to produce art that conveyed ideas in ways that pushed me to develop my depth of thinking so that I utilised interesting ways to express my thoughts and interpretations. It also enabled me to develop my art skills and production through the in-depth study of established artists. This demonstrates my ability to learn and develop skills from the influence of others rather than solely using my ideas.

I have worked with software such as Adobe Photoshop, Illustrator, After Effects and Logic Pro to create various pieces of design material. I am also being introduced to 3D digital design with Maya. I have experience in life and observational drawing over a number of years both in secondary school and college which gave me an understanding of proportion, form and perspective as well as how to bring depth into my drawings.

For 2 years, I was a member of the Merton Youth Parliament which is an organisation whose goal is to find resolutions to the feedback that the youth of our Merton borough bring forward. During my time there, I designed the logo that would encapsulate what we, as an organisation were about. Also, we planned, organised and held an event called ‘Healthfest’ where, through the use of various workshops and presentations, we worked to raise awareness of how healthcare functions for young people and how to use it amongst other key topics. From this experience, I gained skills such as teamwork, communication, project management and more. In 2017, I completed the bronze Duke of Edinburgh award which taught me the importance of resilience, determination and gave me a life experience that would strengthen my character.