original.png

Using the healing tools, we attempted to edit a photograph of Morgan Freeman seamlessly to bring it to a standard that might be displayed within different forms of media. For instance, in popular magazines, adverts etc. like People and Vogue as well as in adverts for mainstream companies like Corner Yoghurt. Photoshop can be used in design industries, commercial industries, film industries and many more.

options panellayers

First, I imported the image and duplicated the layer to have a backup of the original in case it became damaged during editing. I also created a layer for which I would be using the healing tool on so that I could work non-destructively with sample all layers selected so that I could borrow the pixels from the image on the layer beneath.

Then using the spot healing brush tool, I used small strokes to seamlessly edit out the blemishes and age-defining wrinkles in his face. With this tool, you sample an area and it clones the pixels so that you can seamlessly blend with similar areas to the sampled space.

Edited.png

Using this process, I ended up with an edited image of Morgan Freeman. I felt that removing all of the visible lines in his face would make it seem less realistic and so I decided to leave in some forehead lines. I removed the moles to see how well I could edit out the blemishes but, were this to be featured on something like an advert, I would need to be wary that Morgan Freeman is known to have the moles and so I wouldn’t edit them out.

 

Thanks for reading ~