Using Adobe Illustrator, we created nets for a skyscraper comprising of shapes of different sizes. I used the same mood board for inspiration that I used with my first skyscraper illustration task.

Skyscraper Mood Board-01

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

These are the nets that I made. I made 5 levels and a spire for the top. To ensure continuity across a single net, I made one side fully in its greatest detail and then copy and pasted it to the other sections of the net, making alterations where necessary to make the design more intricate. For instance, adding the criss-cross edging or changing what can be seen through the windows for variation. Whilst designing, I was aiming for a sleek, sophisticated and modern look, which I feel that I achieved to an extent with the colour scheme that I used and the simple, but well put together patterns. With more time, the next thing I could work on would be using more complex shapes to further the intricacy. I could also think about making surrounding 3D buildings and accessories like bins and plant pots to build up a scene of sorts.

Due to printing issues, we weren’t able to print all of the nets in time but I managed to print out and put together the bottom building. Here is a preview of what my skyscraper might have looked like and some photos of the net that I made.

3D Skyscraper Preview-01

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Thanks for reading ~